Friday, January 29, 2010

NY Villans Update - Premiership Week 24

It's been a hectic few weeks with lots of league and cup action and we have a hectic few to come. Tomorrow we visit Craven Cottage and Fulham following 4 league games without a win and our boys must surely secure 3 points if we are to continue to have any aspirations of a Champions League place this season. Stephen Warnock remains out with a shin injury so expect the same lineup that drew Arsenal on Wednesday. More concerning injury news in Nigel Reo Coker who is expected to miss the remainder of the season with an ankle injury. On a positive note Freddy Bouma has returned to full training following his unfortunate setback in October, time will tell if he is still the shit brick hard defender he once was but regardless it's great to hear he has recovered. Tomorrows game is live at 10am on ESPN 2, I'll be at Nevada Smiths in frosty Manhattan and it would be lovely to see some of you there.

We are all excited about reaching the Carling Cup Final, it's a great step for Villa to finally return to Wembley, unfortunately one idiot Irish Villa fan failed to consider the dates when booking a ski trip on the last weekend in February, so I shall be attempting to watch some stream of the game on a laptop via a dodgy Verizon wireless connection high atop a mountain in Vermont and probably cold and with a pair of broken legs from my first ski lessons the day before; meanwhile everyone else is shoulder to shoulder in the pub back in NYC having a wild time. As Supporters club once washed up now cleaned up celebrity impersonator Andrew would say "sigh".

Now for some major Broadcasting news. Setanta Sports the Irish Satellite TV company that has been broadcasting football Rugby and Gaelic games in the US for many years will cease to broadcast on February 28th. For those of you in Canada; Setanta will continue to broadcast as normal. For those of us in the USA I'm sad to note that this really cannot be a good thing. Despite some serious arsehole policies such as their pay-per-view muggings at International football and Rugby games we have enjoyed many countless Villa games via their broadcasts. It remains to be seen what level of coverage will be transposed to FSC who have taken over "select programming rights" or what capacity FSC has to broadcast simultaneous games with only a second channel "Fox Soccer Plus" announced as opposed to Setanta who were able to show multiple Rugby and football games via their Satellite and Internet service. Speaking of which the Internet service is a major concern for myself, after a rocky start Setanta in the last year really got their act together and delivered a really top notch online streaming service that included all the football and even the rugby pay-per-view for about $130, I only hope the fsc.tv service can match it. We know FSC are utter tools, after all they hired that complete knob Keith Costigan as a pundit so I'm not holding my breath.

For those like myself who enjoy a bit of good old egg chasing BBC America have supposedly snatched some of the 6-Nations coverage, but alas only 5 of the games will be broadcast who knows what will happen to the rest:

Wales versus England (in London)
Saturday, February 6, 12:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. PT

Ireland versus France (in Paris)
Saturday, February 13, 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT

Ireland versus England (in London)
Saturday, February 27, 11:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. PT

Wales versus Ireland (in Dublin)
Saturday, March13, 9:30 a.m. ET/ 7:30 a.m. PT

England versus France (in Paris)
Saturday, March 20, 9:00 a.m. ET / 6:00 a.m. PT

Cheers and up the Villa, better updates to come soon, I promise.

1 comment:

paul said...

Hi,
I'm a London based Villa fan and will be at Nevada Smiths in NY this weekend. Hope to see you there!